There was no luck for Alessio Sakara as Quebec’s athletic commission has refused to hear his appeal of a UFC 154 disqualification loss to Patrick Cote. The Italian badly hurt Cote with a devastating elbow, but found himself being disqualified as the Canadian dove for a leg, prompting the ATT product to fire several hammer fists, many of which connected to the back of Cote’s head, forcing Dan Miragliotta’s hand in the 86-second bout as he would overturn the commission’s TKO ruling for a DQ.
According to Miragliotta, he gave Sakara a stern warning on the second illegal blow, and decided he would stop the bout to deduct a point if a third did occur. When the referee separated the two, Cote was in no shape to continue. “When I rolled him over, he looked like he didn’t know where he was at,” Miragliotta said of his decision. As a result, the commission refused to hear the case as it was a judgement call on the part of the referee.